Home page

Our doctors

Doctor profile

Doctor Image

Prim. Univ.Prof. Dr. Michael Hermann


Organization Flag
Language Spoken: German, English


Prof. Hermann, head of the largest thyroid surgery department in Austria, Rudolf Stiftung / Landstrasse Clinic, which is recognized as the first reference center in Austria. Dr. Hermann can refer to his many years of experience, more than 8,000 thyroid and parathyroid surgeries performed personally.

Whether surgery is needed now or whether there is a possible risk of cancer, as well as which surgical procedures are appropriate for your condition, all of this can only be clarified and determined during a detailed consultation. Prof. Dr. Michael Hermann is at your disposal for this important initial consultation to accompany you, if necessary, from the individual planning of the operation to the follow-up.



  • In 2010, the monograph "Thyroid Surgery - 30,000 Operations" was published by Springer Verlag publishing house


  • The 1999 Austrian Society of Nuclear Medicine Award - Scientific Prize of the Society of Biochemistry awarded on January 29 in Innsbruck (Annual Congress on Nuclear Medicine)
  • Certificate award "Reference Centre for Thyroid and Parathyroid Surgery" from CAEK (Surgical Working Group for Endocrinology DGAV - German Society for General and Visceral Surgery)
  • The award for poster presentations by CAEK (Surgical Working Group on Endocrinology of the German Society of Surgery) on November 21, 2015, in Mainz, Germany
  • 2014 Theodor Billroth Award of the Vienna Medical Association. Prospective study of surgical site infections in thyroid surgery (Surgery 2014)
  • The poster prize by CAEK (Surgical Working Group on Endocrinology of the German Society of Surgery) on November 20th in Basel, Switzerland
  • 2010 Vienna Health Prize 2nd prize for the project "Quality Indicators and Quality Outcomes in Thyroid Surgery"
  • 2006 CAEK Poster Prize 2006
  • City of Vienna Health Prize 1st place for the "Thyroid Passport" project
  • The 2004 Vienna Health Award for the project: Hospital Television for Patients (project team: doctors, nurses, administration, department technicians 2/2). Awarded with the Albert Schweitzer Medal
  • 1993 Theodor Billroth Prize of the Vienna Medical Association
  • 1989 Wolfgang Denk Award (prize of the Austrian Society for Hematology and Oncology)
  • 1988 Theodor Billroth Award of the Vienna Medical Association. Detection and significance of prostaglandin receptors in the liver


  • Association of Surgical Endocrinology
  • Working Group on Surgical Oncology
  • Working Group on Minimally Invasive Surgery
  • Austrian Society of Nuclear Medicine
  • Working Group on Hernia Surgery
  • Working Group on Quality Assurance in Surgery
  • German Society of Surgery (CAEK)
  • Surgical Working Group on Endocrinology of the German Society of Surgeons (EAVS)
  • European Society of Endoscopic Surgery (ESES)
  • European Association of Endocrine Surgeons
  • Surgical Working Group "Medien der DGAV" (Media of the German Society of General and Visceral Surgery)
  • Board member of ÖGC (Austrian Society of Surgery) - Director of Surgical Video Library since 1997
  • Permanent member of the scientific committee of the Austrian Society of Surgeons from 2003 to 2006.
  • Board member of CAEK (Surgical Working Group on Endocrinology of the German Society of Surgery) in 2004


  • Since 2013 Head of the 2nd Surgical Department KA Rudolfstiftung
  • 2006 Appointment to the Surgical Board of the Kaiserin Elisabeth Hospital
  • Member of the CAM (Surgical Working Group "Media" of the German Surgical Society) and representative for Austria. Merger of the Austrian video library with the media library of the German Society for Surgery
  • Founding of an association: SCIQUALCO (Association for Science and Quality Assurance to Acquire External Funding)
  • 1990 Approval of qualification as a specialist in surgery, from this point onwards chief physician, head of department
  • 1992 Deputy Chief of the Surgical Department in Gmünde
  • President of the CAEK Congress 2004 (together with R. Roca and B. Niederle) 23rd CAEK Working Conference Vienna
  • 2004 Board member of CAEK (Surgical Working Group for Endocrinology of the German Society for Surgery)


  • 1977 Matura at the state gymnasium of the Theresian Academy Foundation
  • 1983 Doctorate in medicine at the University of Vienna
  • 1984 Military service at Stammersdorf military hospital (surgery, internal medicine)
  • 1984 -1985 Internship at the Anatomical Institute III of the University of Vienna. (Univ. Prof. Dr. H. Gruber)
  • 1985 Member of the Hospital Association (counter subjects for surgical training)
  • 1986 Internship as a surgeon under Professor Keminger at the Kaiserin Elisabeth Hospital in Vienna (specialization: general surgery, acute surgery, specialized area of thyroid and parathyroid surgery)
  • 1991-1997 Advanced training under the supervision of Professor Rok, head of the department, in the field of neck and thyroid surgery, as well as further surgical specialization in esophageal surgery and hypopharyngeal region
  • 1998-1999 Defense of doctoral dissertation (lecturer) in surgery at the University of Vienna
  • 1999-2002 33rd University Course on Hospital Management (4-semester multidisciplinary course) with the qualification of "Academically Certified Hospital Manager" awarded with distinction
  • Annual organization of the "Video Sessions" at the Austrian Congress of Surgeons since 1997
  • Founding of the ÖGMV (Austrian Society for Medical Videography), merging with the Austrian Society for Surgery and since then chairman
  • Austrian delegate of EAVS (European Association for Video Surgery) - International Surgical Society (Barcelona) 1993


  • Thyroid and parathyroid surgery